Child Stars

bickelz

BOINK
MBTI
infj
Enneagram
4w5
It seems as if there is an influx of child muscians becoming quite famous within the past few years (particularly the past year). Sure, many of them are talented but do you think they will reach the point of many other professional musicians?

The people I have in mind:

Rebecca Black- We'll see. She totes doesn't act like a 13 year old though. Watch the Leno interview.

J Biebs- He does have a really good voice and he worked very hard to get where he is at but how will he grow?

Willow and Jaden Smith- 10 and 12 years old respectively and were handed all of their opportunities. Willow inspired this thread. She hasn't worked for shit and now she's recording an album with Jay-Z at 10 years old while opening up for Biebs in arenas. I am a much better musician than she will ever be and it's not my main focus.

Miley Cyrus & The Jo Bros- Ok, I have problems with the Disney channel as well as their "artists" in general but I will leave these guys be just because I don't mind some of their music.

Taylor Swift- She doesn't fall into child superstar because she's 20 but how much a cliche is she? There are at least 10 girls that do the same thing during open mic night every tuesday night at my university. I'm sure she's a great person and stuff but I wouldn't put her into a world class musician category. And her lyrics are shallow/ self indulgent. As is she. Boys and simple chord progressions bring in the big bucks.

Note: I don't want to be one of the pretentious people that are like all "x is gay" in Youtube because I think their music sucks. When a true musician/artist presents themselves as such, I will respect them as one. I think that these people could become true artists but they all need some spice and uniqueness.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4a8QtvOkBQ"]YouTube - Lady Gaga - Born This Way (Audio)[/ame]