Distractions, Interruptions, and Other Assorted Annoyances

NYLilac

Community Member
MBTI
INFP
Enneagram
2w1
I have difficulty tuning out environmental distractions. If there is a lot of background noise, I find it difficult to focus on the conversation I'm trying to pay attention to. If I am practicing my singing and listening to an accompaniment CD, I need to focus intensely on the notes, tempo, pitch, volume- everything. If I am interrupted, I cannot stay on task and have even burst into tears in the privacy of my home. It's not feeling sorry for myself- it's more feeling under pressure to get things done right and knowing that I have only so much time. If I am studying, I need peace and quiet. I am not trying to be mean to anyone- I just need to stay on task because it's difficult for me to stop in the middle of one thing to do another when the task involves physical energy or intense mental concentration. I feel strongly for the family and friends who need my attention or help at the time, yet I don't want to hurt their feelings by saying not now. Keep in mind that this applies to non-emergency situations. So I either acquiesce, with my unfinished business lingering in the back of my mind, or I stall for time wondering how long the other party can tolerate waiting.
At the same time, I often keep a piece of crochet or knitting in my hands as an anxiety-relieving mechanism. I don't know- keeping my hands busy makes me feel more relaxed- whether I'm knitting, crafting, cooking, cleaning the kitchen, or doing some random mindless task. What I would really like to do is turn on my favorite music, light some scented candles, eat some dark chocolate, and be left alone. Maybe even a hot, luxurious bath until my mind feels calm, and then I can return to my regular life feeling refreshed. Yes, I even admit I indulge in sweets too much.